Johnson Valley was the venue where the 50th Annual Johnson Valley Championship was held this pat was a 2 day event packed with adrenaline rushed activities and lots of racing. One of the main winners, Gary Sutherlin ended his 217 season taking home the 2017 AMA National Hare and Hound Championship. During Saturday, it consists of the final round and champions of the AMA KENDA SRT National Youth Hare and Hound Championship series, a desert racing museum, free food, and a live band, while Sunday saw well-earned championships from Gary Sutherlin, Kacy Martinez, Tyler Lynn, Rachel Stout and other racers. The 100’s MC hosted the said event.

At the Pro Class, the stage was set for the last race of the weekend. Consisting of a 104 miles of desert terrain it will surely give the competitors a tough time. The starting line was about 2 miles from the 100’s MC Camp. As the go signal was fired, Sutherlin, Nick Burson and Axel Pearson were the ones who were eager to take the lead. After the first loop, it was Sutherlin who was in the lead. Behind him was Jacob Argubright coming in seconds in front of Burson. There were also other riders hoping to catch up to the leaders like Taylor Robert who raced into the pits in fourth ahead of Axel Pearson, Sage Vincent and Precision Concepts rider Justin Morgan.

At the second loop, Argubright had been out of rivalry as he crashed in a rock section sending him to the ground. With this, Robert had found an opportunity to take over and hopes to catch up to Sutherlin. Meanwhile, Beta’s Joe Watson had found his bearing after a rough start making his way through the field in his first race back since round two. Mechanical problem was experienced by JCR Honda Factory Racing’s Ricky Brabec on his bike thus forcing him to end his race early together with his fellow rider Argubright.

A very close race between Gary Sutherlin and Taylor Robert made the fans eager to know the final results. But after the long wait, Sutherllin came out of the third loop and eventually wins the 2017 National Hare and Hound Championship title. Taylor Robert is in second and Nick Burson in third.

With this win, he marks his first AMA KENDA SRT National Hare & Hound Championship title after successfully overcoming many challenging seasons.

At the FMF Pro 250, topping the podium was Tyler Lynn as he made a very solid performance worthy of the championship title. In the midst of the race, his lead was taken over by Chance Fullerton but was unable to maintain the lead due to some mechanical difficulties that he experienced. Nick Tolman and first-time desert racer Cole Canatser were the ones who had a close fight for the second place but it turned out that Canatser had it better to take the second place. In third place was Nick Tolman.

In Women’s Class, Brandy Richards maintained her grip at the first place all throughout the race. Closely behind her was FMF KTM Factory Racing’s Kacy Martinez. At third was Britney Gallegos. Aside from the said title above, Kacy Martinez also took home the 2017 Women’s National Hare and Hound Championship title.

On Saturday at round 8 in Johnson Valley OHV, The AMA KENDA SRT National Youth Hare and Hound Championship Series was held. A win from Ryker Sperry was declared during the weekend in the Pee Wee Race. He had a close race and points with Brennen Watson. Sperry took the overall win and the #1 plate for the 50cc class. Ryker Sperry also caught the Fasst Company youth Hare, Axel Pearson!

Micro Mini, Junior Girls, and Girls classes were observed at the race 2 of the day. Laci Olivas took the overall win by getting the hole shot, catching the Fasst Company Hare, and having a solid lead during the entirety of the race.

Taking the championship at the girls class was Kassidy Laswell.

In Micro Mini class, Lane Forbes, Jett Lessing, and Dustyn Davis had a steady race but eventually, it was  Jett Lessing who took the championship title. In second and third place was  Lane Forbes and Dustyn Davis.

At the last race of the day, an overall win was grabbed by Mason Matthies at the Big Wheel Race. He also took the 2017 National Youth Hare and Hound Championship. Behind him were Clayton Roberts and Bradley East in second and third respectively.

You might also enjoy